Uncategorized

Spiced Banana Chia Cup

Oh Saturday, how I love you.  Saturday mornings are so calm around our home.  Beckett (our daughter) is down for her 10 o’clock nap and I’m catching up on stuff…like getting you guys this recipe!

I have made versions of chia cups in the past, I even went through a phase where I ate chia cups for breakfast for about 2 months.  It was not enough to sustain me until lunch, but I just craved the texture every morning.  It’s silky like a pudding, but has a little crunch to give it substance.

I made this recipe twice before getting it right.  I thought about adding collagen to give it more of a ‘gel’, and it just wasn’t right.  I liked the texture with just the almond milk, it keeps it so light and more snack-y, rather than dessert-y.  So I did it again adding a banana and it tasted just right.  The flavor is light and the spice measurements can be played with a little bit if you like more ‘spice’.

The natural sweetness in this recipe comes from medjool dates.  I love using dates to sweeten because they are chalk full of nutrients and fiber, and who can say no to that?!

spiced-banana-chia-cupchia-cup

 

Yields: 4 Small Ramekins

Prep Time: 10 Minutes

Total Time: 4 Hours

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup chia seeds

1 banana

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 Medjool Dates

1/8 tsp allspice

1/8 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a blender combine the almond milk, banana, vanilla extract, dates, allspice, and cinnamon.  Blend until smooth, but not foamy.
  2. Pour the blended mixture into a large bowl and add the chia seeds.  Mix well.
  3. Pour into individual serving ramekins or cups and put in the refrigerator for a minimum of 4 hours.
  4. Garnish with cinnamon and walnuts if desired.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

